Ref NoMS152
TitleConservative and Unionist Associations and Clubs
HistoryThe National Union of Conservative Associations for Scotland was founded in 1882, following the General Election defeat of 1880. The Union was renamed the Scottish Unionist Association in 1913 after merger with the Liberal Unionists, and became the Scottish Conservative and Unionist Association (SCUA) in 1965. Following the recommendations of the Fairgrieve Committee in 1976, SCUA was affiliated to the National Union, which was until then the voluntary party organisation for England and Wales. However SCUA remained an autonomous organisation, and did not become a section of the National Union. SCUA, working with and through its affiliated constituency associations, functioned as a mass membership organisation with the object of securing the election of Conservative parliamentarians and councillors. There were various changes to the parliamentary constituencies in the Perth and Kinross area resulting in several local Unionist and Conservative and Unionist Associations. After the Reform Act of 1832 there were separate MPs for Perthshire and Perth Burgh but Kinross-shire shared an MP with Clackmannanshire. In 1885 Perthshire was divided into Western and Eastern constituencies. In 1918 there were further changes with Kinross-shire being placed in the Kinross and West Perthshire constituency and Perth Burgh being placed in the Perth and East Perthshire constituency. In 1983 the boundaries were re-drawn and the constituencies of Perth and Kinross and North Tayside were formed.
DescriptionWest Perthshire Unionist Association: Minutes, 1915-1918. Kinross & West Perthshire Unionist Association/Conservative & Unionist Association: Minutes, 1918-1962; Cuttings books, 1963-1969 and 1975-1982, Election information folders, 1938, 1945, 1950-1969. Blairgowrie & Rattray Unionist Association: Minutes, 1922-1954; Women's section minutes, 1954-1959.Perthshire Women's Unionist Association, Blairgowrie & Rattray Branch: Minutes, 1908-1952; Cash book, 1908-1939. Crieff Unionist Club: Minutes, 1903-1932.Crieff Unionist Association/Kinross & West Perthshire Conservative & Unionist Association, Crieff Branch: Minutes, 1918-1939, 1947-1948, 1961-1985. Crieff & District Junior Unionist Association/Young Unionist Association: Minutes, 1961-1965. Unionist Associations Area Group No 2: Minutes, 1936-1962. Blackford Unionist Association/Conservative & Unionist Association: Minutes, 1925-1938, 1955, 1963-1968; Committee minutes, 1925-1976; Cash books, 1925-1938, 1955-1957, 1965-1969.Glencarse & District Unionist Association / Conservative & Unionist Association: minutes, 1925-1972. Perth & East Perthshire Unionist Association/Conservative & Unionist Association, Carse of Gowrie Area: Minutes, 1953-1971. Bridge of Earn Unionist Association/Perth & East Perthshire Conservative & Unionist Association, Bridge of Earn Branch: Minutes, 1937-1972. Perth Division Unionist Association/ Perth & East Perthshire Conservative & Unionist Association: Minutes, 1918-1974; Cash book, 1946-1951. Perth Young Conservatives: Minutes, 1975-1984; Account book, 1948-1984. Perth City & County Conservative Club: Minutes, 1892-1947, Register of members, 1968-1975; Cash books, 1892-1951; Letter books, 1926-1948.
Access statusOpen
Access conditionsData protection rules may apply
CopyingReproduction is available subject to preservation requirements, copyright and data protection restrictions. Charges are made for this service. Applications should be made to Archive staff.

Show related Persons records.

NA14775Perth and Kinross and North Tayside Constituency Associations; Scottish Conservative and Unionist Association; 1983-1983-
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2020